Sandy DeLisle's Blog

Livin’ in La-La Land and Lovin’ It!

Posted on: September 22, 2011

I have often been told I live in La-La Land, creating my own little world of make-believe. I have also been accused of being unrealistic more times than I can count. These things are said as if living in La-La Land  and being unrealistic are bad things. But, I have come to the opposite conclusion; that living “unrealistically” in La-La Land is a wonderful place to be.  In fact,  I invite all of you to join me! If you do, I can promise you one thing; you will be much happier!

If you are a fiction writer, like me, or even a reader of fiction, you suspend disbelief of “the real world” all the time. Fiction writers create entire worlds in our minds, worlds that become so real to us, we are sure our characters are angry with us when we leave them hanging in mid-conflict to go back to the “real” world and drive car pool or cook dinner. Sometimes, our characters even come and visit us in our dreams and tell us what they want to do next in the story. Now, I’m not so lost in La-La Land that I don’t recognize these things may sound a bit silly or odd to those of you who don’t write fiction, but readers of fiction can get just as wrapped up in a fictional world. I need not say more than “Harry Potter” to make my point about how real J.K Rowling’s fictional characters became for her readers.

For me, then, thoughts are things. I think most of us would agree that we can think thoughts of worry to the point of making ourselves physically sick, right? I have seen some of the very people who have called me unrealistic make themselves vomit over worrying about things. And what is worry, but a mere thought of possible bad things that might happen. If we can believe that a thought can make us physically ill, then why shouldn’t we believe the opposite? That a happy thought can manifest itself physically as well.

I am convinced that if we think good thoughts (and really believe them), good things will happen! Lest, you not be convinced by my Pollyanna-like ramblings (yes, I have been accused of that, too) , let me leave you with this quote from one of the most brilliant scientists to have ever lived:

Imagination is everything. It is the preview of things to come. Albert Einstein

8 Responses to "Livin’ in La-La Land and Lovin’ It!"

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

I always get a little sad when I’ve finished reading a book. It seems when you re-read one, the world is not created in quite the same way.

I share your optimism & prefer to see everything in a positive light. Because even if it doesn’t come out the way you want it to, you’re still happy.

Indeed, Perry! Here’s to many more hapy thoughts (and books)!

You speak the truth. Living in la la land (temporarily) gives our minds a moment of peace and tranquility , renews our spirit and gives us the strength to face reality.

thanks
sandy.

Thanks for reading this post, Feni! That is a very good point you made!

You know you’ve really lost it when you feel your characters looming over your shoulder and correcting your syntax… or acting out fencing matching in the confines of your tiny office and then grumbling when their foil becomes entangled with the wires of your computer. o.O

Then again, I believe that these little flights of fantasy are what probably inspired me to write in the first place.

Ha! That is very true!

I always liked Stephen King’s comments (Robert A. Heinlein also said the same thing) about fans who write to him and ask how this character or that character is doing… as if he were in constant correspondence with them.

The nice thing about “La-La Land” is that we can resolve our problems, if just through our characters. The resolution may not be what it would be in the ‘real’ world, but it /is/ a resolution, a solution to something. In “La-La Land” we actually can fix things, solve relationships, and in general give someone a “happily ever after” ending, which is something very difficult to find in ‘real’ life. By the same token, how /you/ solve a problem may not be the way that someone else would, and therefore your solution might give someone food for thought, or a nudge in a different direction… it also lets people know that problems /can/ be solved. There’s a reason why people read – and generally, it’s because they feel better after they finish a story or a series, because things have been solved, resolutions have been reached, and for a while at least, someone (if even a fictional character) has found a relationship that works. If you can give someone all of that just through the words you write, then what else is possible? What other mountains can be scaled?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

